Today after three years of dreaming, I finally made it back to my beloved  Europe. A lot has changed in those three years. Maybe its just my perspective that has been widened, but the world seems so much different than it did back then And yet, we’ll always have Paris. Yesterday I watched the sunrise over Orlando, and today I watched the sunrise over Paris, and in those simple moments everything seemed perfect. 

But in the real world, all perfect things come to an end, and so the moment my best friend and I touched down in Paris we hit the ground running. A delayed flight caused us to miss our check in window at our flat, which caused us to have to rent a locker in the train station to store our stuff, which made us miss 8:30 am mass at Notre Dame. And then on our way to the Eiffel Tower we got caught unprepared in a torrential downpour, causing us to miss our ticket window time. But thankfully the day turned out to be absolutely magical in spite of it all! We spent a leisurely morning in the Latin Quarter, eating nutella crepes and exploring Shakespeare and Company bookstore before heading to 11 am mass at Notre Dame herself. And then after a bit of souvenir shopping we made our way over to Montemarte, the city within a city in Paris. We had an absolutely fabulous walking tour of the district, starting at the Moulin Rouge and ending at Scare Coeur basilica, and it was probably the best and most unexpectedly wonderful part of the day. Thankfully the tour was completed shortly before the  downpour, and once we finally got to the Eiffel Tower a very kind woman at the checkpoint let us through despite being late because the rain had driven many people away. It’s only day 1, and it’s already been quite the adventure.

I think Emily summed it up nicely when she looked at me at the top of the Eiffel Tower and said, “I can’t remember a day recently when I have been flooded with so many wobderful emotions.” It still doesn’t feel real, and I totally agree. Maybe its the delerium from jet lag, but today was perfect in all its imperfections and just thinking about it makes me so overwhelmed with happiness that I feel like I could burst. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings. Maybe tomorrow I will be able to write more about the cool details that makes Montmartre so unique, or the exquisiteness of the view from the Eiffel Tower, but for now my heart is too full to focus on the small details.

For now, bon soir Paris.

 

