Have I mentioned I hate moving? Well, after a very long and boring trip down I-10 today, I’ve finally arrived in Louisiana! Now all that’s left to do is unpack. Which is possibly the worst part of moving, because now I have to find space for everything. I have discovered that I have entirely too much stuff.

The drive was incredibly uneventful, except for a moment when I was hungry and attempted to open a candy bar wrapper and almost veered off the road. But I did get the wrapper open, so I say it was a success. Oh, and Dad almost got the moving truck stuck in a parking garage, but that’s another story. (Don’t worry, no one was hurt and the truck didn’t have so much as a scratch.) After driving more than 500 miles on I-10 I have definitely become reacquainted with the route I knew so well in college. Now I get to spend even MORE time on that terribly boring road. If only you could hear the excitement in my voice . . . it’s almost the same amount of excitement I have about I-4 in Orlando. Ugh.

But I am grateful to finally be here. My new house (yes, a real house!) is beautiful, and my roommates are wonderful, and everything is perfect. I don’t know how I managed to luck out so much. My first apartment was far nicer than I deserved and I don’t know how I succeeded in finding such an awesome roommate through a random post on the internet, but that all worked out perfectly. And now I get to live in a beautiful house with one of my dear friends (and sister!) from college, in a fabulous city. We’ve already gone out to try some local food at a place called Mr. Ed’s Oyster Bar (at least I think that’s the name? I may have to look that up again to double check), where I had a stuffed crab po boy. We also got coupons to come back and enjoy a free house wine. I think I could get used to this.

Well, here’s to another chapter of Wanderlust. A new city with new people, new places to explore, new foods to try, and new experiences to be had. I didn’t do a good job with updating you on life in Disney, and I probably won’t do a good job of updating you on New Orleans, but I will at least try. At the very least you’ll get some sappy post when I move again about all the cool things I did this year. But no guarantees. I’m off on another adventure! I guess all that’s left to be said is laissez les bon temps rouler! (For those of you who don’t speak Cajun, that means “let the good times roll!” There will certainly be many good times to be had.)

