DSCN1497
You know that wonderful moment where you finally feel confident in your ability to do something? I had that moment today. This summer I’ve had the absolute pleasure of taking on my fourth role here at Walt Disney World as a member of the Children’s Activities team at Saratoga Springs and Old Key West resorts. Of course, I didn’t expect that soon after taking the job I would be accepted to graduate school and would soon be moving far away and leaving Disney. I didn’t think I would get accepted to graduate school at all, let alone so soon, but I had applied anyway. Life works out pretty strangely sometimes. So I felt incredibly guilty that I had accepted this new job, gone through all of the training, only to turn around and put in a month’s notice that I would be leaving. I still feel pretty bad about that. I don’t think I would have accepted the job if I had known, but I am so glad that I did. And today for the first time, I really felt like I had finally got the hang of it all. Too bad I only have two more shifts left. I’m definitely going to miss this. I’m going to miss playing Disney trivia by the pool, and seeing the same excited kids a few days in a row, and hosting campfires, and I think I’ll even miss talking about random things on the microphone. It’s been an amazing opportunity, and I am so grateful for the chance to be a part of such a great group of cast members. I didn’t think saying goodbye to everyone would be so hard, because I haven’t been here long enough, but I’m definitely not ready to say goodbye.

I did say my final goodbye to Hollywood Studios tonight, however. And that was pretty emotional. My fantastic roommate from this past year met me in the park after we got off work, and together we rode Tower of Terror (which is my favorite ride) and Star Tours. We watched the Muppet Show for a good laugh, and ate ice cream on Sunset Boulevard. I got a very pleasant surprise at Scoops when I found out that they switched dairy-free ice cream brands, and they now sell So Delicious Coconut Milk Ice Cream!!! It was like my own personal magical moment. I had my favorite dessert: the apple crisp a-la-mode, with that glorious coconut milk ice cream on top. I was perfectly content.

And then it was time to watch Fantasmic one last time. Fantasmic has always been my favorite show. When I was seasonal at Disney, I would start and end each summer by seeing Fantasmic. Because it is also my roommate’s favorite show, it kind of became our thing. We bought glow-with-the-show ears so that we could wear them to Fantasmic, and we went to see it together on many occasions. So it was only appropriate that we were both there tonight. Despite a few technical glitches, the show was as fabulous as always, and per usual I got a bit teary at the end. But surprisingly I didn’t actually cry. I expected that I would. No, the tears didn’t come until later, as I said goodbye to my roommate in the parking lot. I know it’s silly because I’m certainly going to be back to visit, and I know I’ll see her again. It’s not like either of us is moving far away. But I think I just realized how grateful I was to have her as a friend, and how much I will miss the experience of this past year. It has been magical beyond my wildest dreams.

Tomorrow will surely include more goodbyes, and I will pay a visit to my favorite park. I’ll say goodbye to Epcot, and probably spend a lot of time in the UK, and of course watch IllumiNations. But tomorrow is another day.

DSCN4314

