Today I spent my last morning in the Magic Kingdom. Mornings are my favorite time of day in the parks, because there’s so much to see and so few people! That one hour between the opening show and the mad rush of people who took their time getting ready and eating breakfast, that’s the best time in my opinion. The vehicles are out on Main Street, the trolley is driving to the castle and back, the Trolley Show skips along down Main Street every so often . . . it’s a beautiful scene. I got to say hello (and goodbye) to Mayor Weaver, our wonderful mayor of Main Street. I got one last hug from my favorite princess, Merida (and finally got the courage to ask if I could shoot the bow and arrow that they let the kids play with). I rode Space Mountain, Winnie the Pooh, and Haunted Mansion, three of my favorites. And after nearly a year, I finally beat the Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom.

If you’ve never played, the Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom is an interactive scavenger hunt throughout the Magic Kingdom in which you have to track down evil villains and cast spells given to you by Merlin in the form of playing cards in order to save the day. It’s incredibly fun, and quite addictive. A few months back I successfully completed my deck of cards (well, with the exception of some cards you have to buy), and I have “finished” the game a few times. But each time you finish the game, you have the option to start over on a harder level. I stayed on the medium level for a few times, but I finally moved up to hard. And well folks, this morning I finally finished the game on the hardest level. Bucket list item complete!

I also had my first churro! That’s right, I’ve never eaten a Disney churro. Why? Because I didn’t want to pay $4 for it. But I finally did, and I even splurged and got the chocolate dipping sauce. Definitely good stuff.

I then dipped over to Hollywood Studios and met Woody and Buzz, along with Sofia the First and Doc McStuffins. That completes the list of characters who I hadn’t met. There’s not a whole lot left on my bucket list now . . .

I’m also collecting maps. I have a set of maps from all 4 parks from when I started this job, and boy have they changed in the past 3 years! So I would love to compare this years’ maps to the ones I get next time I’m here. Whenever that will be.

I realize that I’m rambling a bit now. I think it’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that I’m doing all of these things for the last time. Of course I say that I will be back. And I certainly hope that I will. But the reality is that with Disney prices continuing to rise, it will be a while before I’ll be able to afford the trip if I have to buy my own tickets. And I don’t want to think about how sad that is.

Oh, what else did I do today? Cried my way through “One Man’s Dream” in Hollywood Studios. You know, when I started working at Disney, I didn’t like Disney this much. I didn’t really care. But now I feel like whenever I so much as see a clip of Walt, or hear his voice, or read some inspirational quote, I tear up. Disney certainly does something to you. And I think I am better for it. 🙂

